Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
Filter by Categories
latest news

Local Government Administration

Zambia has a three tier municipal system with District Councils being the least followed by Municipal Councils and then City Councils for big cities. There are currently seven councils in the province all of which are District Councils except for Chinsali which has a Municipal status on account of it being the Provincial Capital. The District Councils are headed by elected representatives called Chairpersons and Mayor for the only Municipal Council – Chinsali. Each elected Head of the Council holds office for a period of years. Muchinga is a predominantly a rural province and hence there are no City Councils.

There are ten (10) constituencies which are further subdivided into one hundred and two (102) wards. A ward is headed by a Councillor whilst a constituency is headed by a Member of Parliament both of which are elected for a period of five years along-side the elected Council Chairmen and Mayors for councils.